Staying The Course

There are so many attributions and complicated emotions on staying the course.  “What do you mean?” you might ask. That’s simple. Have you ever wanted to do something or wanted something so badly, that the thought of how long or how hard it may take to receive whatever it is you wanted or wanted to do, just discourages you, possibly knocking you right off track. Yeah. Been there, done that. Might I also add, it is not a very pleasant feeling. 
We often want things out of life that in our reality may seem impossible. Whether it be because of the lack of moral support from your friends or loved ones, a lack of finances, or just lack of motivation. For instance, let me give you a small example of a situation I was going through. 
For years I have been house hopping, never having any stability in my life. I would live with friends, family members, and even in some situations in my car along the river in my hometown. With a crappy paying job, no idea where I wanted to be in life, no moral or financial support, I struggled to what one might call “growing up.” Now, I knew that life was going to be hard, but man oh man, no one ever told me that it was going to be this hard. I guess we are never really prepared. My twenties were a real eye opener. With several years of many failures, came a magnitude of growth. Now, being almost 30, I can look back and say that although I haven’t made it, I sure have come a long way because I stayed my course. It only took one night of a complete mental breakdown to say, “Enough is enough. I’m done with this shit.” I kid you not, those were my exact words. 
From that point forward, I wrote a list of short term goals and long term goals. One of my short term goals was to do better at work so that I could get the raise I deserved. Another was finding a part-time position that would allow me to bring in extra cash so that I could finally begin to save for my own apartment. Things however were not always easy. Being the only female coater at my job, I get looked down upon often. I’ve been harassed mentally, emotionally, and at one point physically when a male employee decided to push me. Needless to say, this being a mans place of work, nothing was ever done regardless of the many complaints I have filed. Yes, I am still here, working, but only because this job position is the means to receive income for the things I need and want at the moment. Staying on topic, eventually I continued to work harder than most and getting the raise I deserved. This was a huge accomplishment on my end. I was also able to find two part time positions that allowed me to save extra money on the side. Finally, I was able to afford an apartment on my own. Well, not really on my own, but with my roommate, also known as my little brother. Once I had enough money saved I was able to move myself out of the small 8×9 room I was renting out for $450 per month and my brother out of my mothers. This would not have been possible if I did not, I’ll say it again, stay the course. The sense of accomplishment that I have achieved overwhelms me to this very day. Now, to you or someone else it may not be much, but to me, finally being on my own, having my own things, having my own privacy and knowing I worked my ass off to achieve it, is kind of a huge deal. So when you feel as if you are ready to give up and had enough, just take a look at this list I made up for myself and now sharing with you: 

  • Decide that enough is enough
  • Set short and long term goals
  • Make a list of what needs to be done to achieve those goals
  • Work hard because in the end it will pay off
  • Do not allow yourself to be discourage and if you do read over your goals again and imagine yourself achieving them. One of the best motivations is reminding yourself that feeling you get when you think of yourself having the things you want. 
  • People suck. They will try to bring you down. Allow them to think what they want. In the end, they are irrelevant. 
  • Never stop making short term goals. Believe me when I say it, short term goals give you the boost you need to continue working towards those long term goals.
  • Try to stay positive. 
  • Last but not least STAY THE COURSE


We were all thrown in to this world without a handbook or a guide to life. Hell, most of us are just “winging it.” I know I am. However, along the way, I have learned when you really want something, there is no stopping the level of determination you have inside of you to get it. The only thing that stops us is US. 

4 thoughts on “Staying The Course

  1. I’ve been trying to stay on course with my own goals and plans but ITS SO HARD!

    It’s nice to see that you are pushing through bc it will be good in the end. Really good. So good that you’ll be sitting around the fire with a drink in your hand and wondering what you were thinking.

    You sound committed. Oh! And when I was in France in a bookstore I saw a poetry book and it reminded me of you! It wasn’t a French book lol you probably seen it before. Called ‘Dirty Pretty Things.’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you! And yes, it’s super hard! I still struggle every day, but the more focused I become the easier it becomes. Just keep pushing forward girl! I know you’ve got this! And I have not heard of it but it’s awesome that you thought of me!😊.. I’m definitely going to have to check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Keep moving forward” – Rocky Balboa

    I’m with you on the “Stay the course”. I completely changed my eating habits and started working out daily two months ago under the strong advice from my doctor. I’ve dropped 30+ lbs and going, and I feel great. It’s hard at times because you just want to give in but you can’t. Keep fighting for what you know you want and deserve.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And Yes! Exactly! That is amazing that you’ve taken the initiative to change for the better. Your results are amazing! They are also your reward for not giving up. Keep up the amazing work😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

