Horror Movie Fanatic? 

What is it about horror movies that capture the hearts of so many people? Is it the intense anticipation of waiting for something or someone to pop out at the screen, or is it the dreading feeling that, although it is just a movie, it becomes real in our minds. From serial killers, to werewolves, to vampires, paranormal entities, and evil dolls, our amygdala (area in our brain that governs our senses and yes I googled that) is set on a fight or flight mode; cowering us into safety under a blanket or behind our hands. With our hearts racing, palms sweating, senses heightened, we crave more. At least I know I do. 
I remember be as young as four years old when I watched my first horror movie by Stephen King called IT. Man did it leave a good number on me. For years up until my mid twenties I was terrified of clowns. It wasn’t soon after I had watched that movie, that my mother, whom I love dearly, decided to dress me as you guessed it, a damn clown. I’ll never forget looking in the mirror and realizing what it was she dressed me as and having a complete freak out. It’s not every day that your four year old self transforms to the one thing you fear the most. I cried, I kicked, I screamed, cried some more, then eventually succumbed to the realization, that I was now the perfect replica of the monster from the movie I was so afraid of.
As time passed by and I grew older my love for horror movies grew as well. Classic films from Night Of The Living Dead to Child’s Play, Trick-R-Treat to Paranormal Activity, filled my mental movie collection. There is just something about horror movies that no matter how terribly produced, the dire stories that were being told or untold in some instances, more than made up for it. We can often sit back with a bag of popcorn and a can of soda watching the most recent love story with the lights off, but where’s the fun in that? Bring on the gore, guts, monsters, ghosts, and serial killers that could be waiting for me in the bathroom, or sneaking up on me during one of the most gruesome, heart racing, bone chilling scenes! 

Here’s a list of my top 15 favorite horror films:

  1. Trick-R-Treat
  2. Sweeney Todd
  3. Jeepers Creepers
  4. IT
  5. Childs Play 
  6. Children Of The Corn
  7. Pet Cemetary 
  8. Paranormal Activity
  9. As Above So Below
  10. Nightmare On Elm Street
  11. Poltergeist 
  12. Halloween
  13. Night Of The Living Dead
  14. The Silence of The Lambs
  15. Cannibal Holocaust 
Leave a Reply

