Drive-In Movie Experience

Okay so I’m sure that many of you have heard of a drive-in movie theater and some have not. For those who don’t know what I am talking about, it’s a movie cinema where instead of sitting in a large room next to random strangers inside, you get to watch a movie on the big screen in the comfort of your own car, outside. Yes! This is still a thing and might I add, it’s the best movie experience there is. I mean, in my perspective it is.

As the season is finally here, where the drive-ins are finally opening their gates and letting everyone in, I’m counting down the days to my first visit. Watching everyone outside playing frisbee, having sand bag tosses, or just picnicking out on the ground, the moment you drive in there, it’s instant awesomeness. 

The best part of a drive-in is the popping up your trunk, laying the flatbed down, layering it with tons of blankets and pillows, and getting cuddled up right next to your date. With the nice warm summer air or crisp fall and spring breezes coming through, I have never felt more comfortable watching a movie. I have to admit, I may have fallen asleep here and there, but only because of the relaxed atmosphere. 

Unlike your traditional movie theater, where a small soda, popcorn, and box of candy runs you about $20, at the drive-in that $20 will get you two meals (drinks and candy included). My favorite drive-in is located in Vineland, Nj, called Delsea Drive-in. Actually it’s the only one I’ve been to, so there’s that. They always have two screens running with two to three movies playing. You don’t have to pay for parking just per person, which l believe the price is about $11. Still a lot cheaper than your regular ticket price. The concession stand is filled with different types of food from pizzas, burgers, hotdogs, and fries, to a huge variety of milkshakes, candy, and even gluten free products. 

The only downside about this is that the drive to get there is an hour long. Unfortunately, drive-in movie theaters are very rare; however, I have been seeing a lot more people going every year. Hopefully with its ever increasing popularity it makes the biggest comeback. Maybe one day I’ll be able to open one up closer to home. I actually heard of another one in Lehighton, Pa called the Mahoning Drive-In that I will be checking out this summer. I’m actually really excited because they are hosting a VHS classic horror weekend and you can actually stay overnight! I mean how amazing is that? If you have not experienced a drive-in yet, do so! I promise, you would not regret it one bit. 

Leave a Reply

